Arkansas

  • Arkansas Summary
  • Law Breakdown
  • Penalties

Residents of Arkansas are probably aware that their state is conservative when it comes to marijuana laws.

Here is a full description of Arkansas’ Criminal Offense Code 5-64-443.  If you would like more information, please research 5-64-444 and 5-64-445 as well.

 

Arkansas Marijuana Attorneys

The following Arkansas lawyers are actively involved in the practice of cannabis law:

Name: Your Firm Here
Website: www.YourSite.com
Phone: 555.555.5555

 

Name: Your Firm Here
Website: www.YourSite.com
Phone: 555.555.5555

 

Name: Your Firm Here
Website: www.YourSite.com
Phone: 555.555.5555

 

*Disclaimer these are paid advertisements, however we have vetted the attorneys.

It is illegal to possess, sell, deliver, cultivate, or traffic any amount of marijuana in Arkansas. Penalties are especially stiff, making this one of the riskiest places in the United States for toking.

Possession

Possession of less than 4 ounces of marijuana is a misdemeanor on a first offense. The top penalty is one year in jail and $2,500 in fines. On a second offense, the same crime is a felony and carries a maximum penalty of six years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

The same penalties apply for possession of between 4 ounces and 10 pounds. Possession of between 10 and 25 pounds comes with a mandatory minimum sentence of three years in prison and a maximum of 10, plus up to $10,000.

If the amount is between 25 and 100 pounds, the penalty increases to at least five years in prison and as many as 10, along with a potential $15,000 fine. The mandatory minimum prison term for possession of between 100 and 500 pounds is six years, while the maximum is 30 plus $15,000 in fines.

Sale, Delivery, or Manufacture

It is a misdemeanor to make, sell, or deliver 14 grams of cannabis or less, and the maximum sentence is one year in jail plus $2,500 in potential fines. If the weight is between 14 grams and 4 ounces, the offense is a felony and the penalty increases to a maximum of six years in prison and $10,000.

Sale, delivery, or manufacture of between 4 ounces and 25 pounds carries a penalty of between three and 10 years in prison, plus up to $10,000 in potential fines. Sale, delivery, or manufacture of 25 to 100 pounds comes with a sentence of five to 20 years in prison and up to $15,000 in fines. Sale, delivery, or manufacture of between 100 and 500 pounds is punishable by between six and 30 years in prison, plus up to $15,000.

Trafficking

Possession, sale, delivery, or manufacture of marijuana in weights exceeding 500 pounds is considered felony trafficking under Arkansas statute. The penalty includes a mandatory minimum of 10 years in prison and a maximum of 40, along with a possible fine of up to $15,000.

Hash and Concentrates

Hashish and other concentrates are treated the same as marijuana flower under Arkansas law. This means the same weights and penalties apply for possession, sale, delivery, manufacture, and trafficking offenses.

Paraphernalia

Possession of paraphernalia with intent to use it to consume marijuana is a misdemeanor in Arkansas, punishable by up to one year in jail and $2,500 in fines. Possession of paraphernalia with intent to use it to grow marijuana is a felony and carries a maximum sentence of six years in prison and $10,000.

Delivery of smoking paraphernalia to a minor who is at least three years younger than the offender is a misdemeanor with a top penalty of one year in jail and $2,500 in fines. Delivery of growing paraphernalia to a minor who is at least three years younger is a felony and carries a sentence of between five and 20 years in prison, plus fines of up to $15,000.

Arkansas Marijuana Laws
Offense Penalty Incarceration   Max. Fine  
Possession
Less than 4 oz (first offense) misdemeanor 1 year $2,500
1 - 4 oz (subsequent offense) felony 6 years $10,000
4 oz - 10 lbs felony 6 years $10,000
10 - 25 lbs felony 3* - 10 years $10,000
25 - 100 lbs felony 5* - 20 years $15,000
100 - 500 lbs felony 6* - 30 years $15,000
* Mandatory minimum sentence
Delivery
14 g or less misdemeanor 1 year $2,500
14 g - 4 oz felony 6 years $10,000
4 oz - 25 lbs felony 3* - 10 years $10,000
25 - 100 lbs felony 5* - 20 years $15,000
100 - 500 lbs felony 6* - 30 years $15,000
* Mandatory minimum sentence
Includes possession with intent to deliver
Includes manufacture
Trafficking
500 lbs or more felony 10* - 40 years $15,000
* Mandatory minimum sentence
Hash & Concentrates
Penalties for hashish are the same as for marijuana. Please see the marijuana penalties section for further details.
Paraphernalia
Possession of smoking paraphernalia misdemeanor 1 year $2,500
Possession of growing paraphernalia felony 6 years $10,000
Delivery of smoking paraphernalia to a minor at least 3 years younger misdemeanor 1 year $2,500
Delivery of growing paraphernalia to a minor at least 3 years younger felony 5* - 20 years $15,000
* Mandatory minimum sentence

Arkansas Governor Pardons Son for Marijuana Crime

Arkansas

Add this to the list of government hypocrisies in the drug war: Outgoing Arkansas Gov. Mike Beebe granted a pardon that cleared his own son of a marijuana conviction. Unlike most people charged with cannabis offenses, who must endure the burden of a criminal record, Kyle Beebe will now have a clean slate, thanks to his father. The governor has ...

Read More »