Utah marijuana laws are particularly harsh. Due to this, residents of the Beehive State should educate themselves on local paraphernalia laws in order to better protect themselves from fines and jail time.
Utah Marijuana Attorneys
The following Utah lawyers are actively involved in the practice of cannabis law:
Utah allows the limited medical use of non-intoxicating CBD oil. All other possession, cultivation, and sale of marijuana is prohibited. The drug is not decriminalized, so even minor offenses carry the possibility of jail time.
It is a crime to possess any amount of marijuana in Utah, except CBD for medical use. Possession of less than 1 ounce of cannabis is a misdemeanor and is punishable by up to six months in jail and $1,000 in fines. Possession of between 1 ounce and 1 pound is also a misdemeanor and carries a top penalty of one year in jail and $2,500.
It is a felony, meanwhile, to possess between 1 and 100 pounds, and the maximum punishment is five years in prison and $5,000. For more than 100 pounds, there is a minimum sentence of one year in jail, a maximum of 15 years in prison, and a top fine of $10,000.
It is a felony to sell any amount of cannabis in Utah. The maximum penalty is five years in prison and $5,000 in fines. Enhanced penalties apply if the sale occurs in the presence of a minor or within 1,000 of a school or other drug-free zone.
Marijuana cultivation is treated the same as possession in Utah. The same weight limits and penalties apply.
Hash and Concentrates
No special rules apply to hashish or other marijuana concentrates in Utah. The same weight limits and penalties apply.
All drug paraphernalia is illegal in Utah unless intended, marketed, and used exclusively for legal purposes. Paraphernalia includes any items intended for the cultivation, harvesting, processing, testing, analysis, storage, inhaling, ingesting, or otherwise introducing of marijuana to the body.
Use and possession. Possession of marijuana paraphernalia is a class B misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in jail and $1,000 in fines.
Sale and distribution. Sale of paraphernalia is also a misdemeanor and carries a maximum penalty of one year in jail and $2,500.
Sale to a minor. Selling paraphernalia to a minor, who is at least three years younger than the seller, is a third-degree felony and comes with a top sentence of five years in prison and $5,000 in fines.
Utah’s CBD-only legislation, which was the first of its kind in the US, instructs the Department of Agriculture to grow low-THC hemp for the production of cannabis oil.
Qualifying conditions – Intractable epilepsy
Patient possession limits – Cannabis extracts are permitted if they contain no more than 0.3 percent THC and no less than 15 percent CBD
Home cultivation – No
State-licensed dispensaries – No
Caregivers – No
Reciprocity – No
Contact information – [email protected]
|Less than 1 oz||Misdemeanor||6 months||$ 1,000|
|1 oz – 1 lb||Misdemeanor||1 year||$ 2,500|
|1 – 100 lbs||Felony||5 years||$ 5,000|
|More than 100 lbs||Felony||1 – 15 years||$ 10,000|
|Any amount||Felony||5 years||$ 5,000|
|In the presence of a minor or within 1000 ft of a school and other designated public areas is subject to increased penalties.|
|See Possession section for details.|
Hash & Concentrates
|Penalties for hashish are the same as for marijuana. Please see the Penalty Details section for further information.|
|Possession of paraphernalia||Misdemeanor||6 months||$ 1,000|
|Sale of paraphernalia||Misdemeanor||1 year||$ 2,500|
|To a minor||Felony||5 years||$ 5,000|
|Any conviction will result in a driver’s license suspension for 6 months.|