Wisconsin

  • Wisconsin Summary
  • Law Breakdown
  • Penalties

America’s Dairyland is home to strict marijuana laws.  For this reason, resident of Wisconsin should familiarize themselves with local paraphernalia laws in order to avoid hefty fines and even time behind bars.

Here is Wisconsin’s Controlled Substances Code 961.571 in its entirety.  For more information, be sure to research 961.577 as well.

Wisconsin Marijuana Attorneys

The following Wisconsin lawyers are actively involved in the practice of cannabis law:

Name: Your Firm Here
Website: www.YourSite.com
Phone: 555.555.5555

 

Name: Your Firm Here
Website: www.YourSite.com
Phone: 555.555.5555

 

Name: Your Firm Here
Website: www.YourSite.com
Phone: 555.555.5555

 

*Disclaimer these are paid advertisements, however we have vetted the attorneys.

Marijuana is prohibited for any use in Wisconsin, medical or otherwise. The drug is not decriminalized, so all offenses are treated as crimes and carry the possibility of jail time.

Possession

Possession of any amount of marijuana in Wisconsin is a misdemeanor on a first offense and carries a maximum sentence of six months in jail and $1,000 in fines. On a subsequent offense the charge is a felony, and the maximum penalty is 3.5 years in prison plus $10,000.

Sale or Delivery

It is a felony to sell or deliver any amount of cannabis in Wisconsin. If the amount is 200 grams or less, the maximum penalty is 3.5 years in prison and $10,000 in fines. If the weight is between 200 and 1,000 grams, the maximum is six years in prison and $10,000.

For between 1,000 and 2,500 grams, the top penalty is 10 years in prison and $25,000. For between 2,500 and 10,000 grams, the maximum is 12.5 years in prison and $25,000. And for more than 10,000 grams, penalties max out at 15 years in prison and $50,000 in fines.

Subsequent sale or delivery convictions carry enhanced penalties. Sale and delivery statutes also cover possession with intent to distribute.

Cultivation

Cultivation of up to three plants is treated as misdemeanor possession in Wisconsin. Growing larger amounts of marijuana is a felony.

For offenses involving between four and 20 plants, the top penalty is six years in prison and $10,000 in fines. For between 20 and 50 plants, penalties increase to as many as 10 years in prison and up to $25,000. Cultivation of 50 to 200 plants is punishable by up to 12.5 years in prison and $25,000. And growing more than 200 plants carries a maximum sentence of 15 years in prison and $50,000.

Subsequent cultivation offenses carry enhanced penalties.

Hash and Concentrates

Hashish and other cannabis concentrates are treated the same as regular bud under Wisconsin law. That means the same weight limits and penalties apply.

Paraphernalia

Wisconsin bars all marijuana paraphernalia unless it’s intended, sold, and used exclusively for legal purposes. Possession of drug paraphernalia is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 30 days in jail and $500 in fines.

Distribution of paraphernalia or possession with intent to distribute is also a misdemeanor and carries a maximum of 90 days in jail and $1,000. Selling or giving paraphernalia to a minor at least three years younger than the seller is likewise a misdemeanor and comes with a top penalty of nine months in jail and $10,000.

Wisconsin Marijuana Laws
Offense Penalty Incarceration   Max. Fine  
Possession
Any amount (first offense) misdemeanor 6 mos $1,000
Any amount (subsequent offense) felony 3.5 years $10,000
Sale or Delivery
200 g or less felony 3.5 years $10,000
200 - 1000 g felony 6 years $10,000
1000 - 2500 g felony 10 years $25,000
2500 - 10,000 g felony 12.5 years $25,000
More than 10,000 g felony 15 years $50,000
Includes possession with intent to distribute
Subsequent offense is subject to additional penalties
Cultivation
4 - 20 plants felony 6 years $10,000
20 - 50 plants felony 10 years $25,000
50 - 200 plants felony 12.5 years $25,000
More than 200 plants felony 15 years $50,000
Subsequent offense is subject to additional penalties
Hash & Concentrates
Penalties for hashish and marijuana are generally treated equally under the law. Please see details below.
Paraphernalia
Use or possession with intent to use paraphernalia misdemeanor 30 days $500
Distribution or possession with intent to distribute misdemeanor 90 days $1,000
To a minor at least 3 years younger misdemeanor 9 mos $10,000
Civil Asset Forfeiture
All controlled substances and items used to distribute, including vehicles, are subject to forfeiture.
Miscellaneous
Driving privileges may be suspended for 6 mos - 5 years.

 

Wisconsin Man Charged with Marijuana Possession, Horse Sex

Jared Kreft

A note to stoners: Getting busted with weed is cool. Getting busted doing your business with a horse is not. So, you know, don’t mix your marijuana with your livestock. A Wisconsin man was arrested in December and charged with marijuana possession. Also, sex with a horse. Sheriff’s deputies in rural Marathon County, Wis., busted Jared Kreft, 30, in a ...

Read More »

Wisconsin Police Chief: State Should Legalize

Wisconsin isn’t likely to legalize pot anytime soon, but the police chief in one of the state’s largest and most liberal cities endorsed the idea in September. Chief Mike Koval of the Madison Police Department told a local newspaper the war on drugs has been an “abject failure,” especially its focus on marijuana as a “dangerous” drug. “We’ve done such ...

Read More »