Did you know that Nebraska has decriminalized the personal use of marijuana possession? Residents from the Cornhusker State should still read up on local paraphernalia laws in order to avoid any penalties at all.
Nebraska Marijuana Attorneys
The following Nebraska lawyers are actively involved in the practice of cannabis law:
Possession of small amounts of marijuana is decriminalized in Nebraska, but any other possession, sale, or cultivation is illegal. Hash and concentrates are also banned, as is drug paraphernalia. Penalties can be severe, especially for concentrates.
Possession of less than 1 ounce is a minor civil infraction on a first offense and carries a maximum penalty of $300. There is no jail time. A second offense is also a civil infraction, with no jail time, but fines can be up to $500. On a third offense, the penalty increases to as many as seven days in jail and $500.
Possessing between 1 ounce and 1 pound is also a misdemeanor, with a top penalty of three months in jail and $500 in fines. Possessing any amount greater than 1 pound is a felony, and the maximum penalty is five years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Cultivation of marijuana is also treated as a possession crime, with the same weight limits and penalties.
Sale of any amount of marijuana is a felony in Nebraska, carrying between one year in jail and as many as 20 years in prison, plus a possible $25,000 fine. Sale of cannabis to a minor, or within 1,000 feet of a school or another prohibited zone, is punishable by at least one year in prison and as many as 50 years in prison.
Hash and Concentrates
The possession of hashish or other marijuana concentrates is a felony, as are sale, manufacture, and possession with the intent to distribute. The maximum penalty for possession is five years in prison and $10,000, while distributing comes with between one and 20 years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines.
Nebraska law bans drug paraphernalia but treats it as a civil infraction rather than a crime. Paraphernalia in the state includes any items intended for use with the cultivation, harvesting, cultivation, testing, analysis, storage, or use of marijuana.
Possession and use. Possession of paraphernalia on a first offense carries a fine of up to $100. On a second offense the fine is between $200 and $300, and on a subsequent conviction it increases to between $200 and $500.
Sale and distribution. Selling paraphernalia, or manufacturing/possessing with intent to do so, is a misdemeanor. Penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, up to six months in jail, or both. It is also a misdemeanor to advertise marijuana paraphernalia for sale, and the penalty is up to three months in jail, a fine of up to $500, or both.
Sale to a minor. Selling marijuana to a minor is a misdemeanor when the seller is at least three years older than the recipient. The maximum punishment is up to a year in jail, $1,000 in fines, or both.
|1 oz or less (first offense)||Infraction||N/A||$ 300|
|1 oz or less (second offense)||Misdemeanor||N/A||$ 500|
|1 oz or less (third offense)||Misdemeanor||7 days||$ 500|
|More than 1 oz – l lb||Misdemeanor||3 months||$ 500|
|More than l lb||Felony||5 years||$ 10,000|
|Any amount||Felony||1* – 20 years||$ 25,000|
|To a minor within 1000 feet of a school or between 100-1000 feet of other designated areas (first offense)||Felony||1* – 50 years||N/A|
|Subsequent offense||Felony||3 years* – life||N/A|
|* Mandatory minimum sentence|
|See Sale/Manufacture section for penalty details.|
Hash & Concentrates
|Possession||Felony||5 years||$ 10,000|
|Selling, manufacturing, or possessing with the intent to distribute||Felony||1 – 20 years||$ 25,000|
|Possession of paraphernalia (first offense)||Infraction||N/A||$ 100|
|Sale||Misdemeanor||6 months||$ 1,000|
|Sale to a minor||Misdemeanor||1 year||$ 1,000|
|Advertise||Misdemeanor||3 months||$ 500|