With some of the harshest marijuana laws in the country, residents of The Volunteer State should never volunteer their status of possessing illegal substances. Instead, they should familiarize themselves with local paraphernalia laws in order to avoid these strict penalties.
Tennessee Marijuana Attorneys
The following Tennessee lawyers are actively involved in the practice of cannabis law:
Marijuana is legal in Tennessee only for limited, non-intoxicating medical use. Possession, delivery, sale, and cultivation for any other purpose is a crime. Special rules apply to cannabis concentrates and paraphernalia.
Possession of up to half an ounce of marijuana is a misdemeanor in Tennessee and is punishable by up to one year in jail and $250 in fines on a first conviction. On a subsequent conviction, the maximum possible fine doubles to $500.
It is a felony in Tennessee to sell half an ounce of marijuana or more. A mandatory minimum sentence of one year in jail applies to sale of between half an ounce and 10 pounds, together with a maximum of six years in prison and a top fine of $5,000.
For amounts between 10 and 70 pounds, the penalty is at least two years in prison, as many as 12, and up to $50,000. For weights between 70 and 300 pounds, the minimum penalty is eight years in prison, the maximum is 30, and a fine of up to $100,000 is possible. Weights greater than 300 pounds carry a penalty of between 15 and 60 years in prison, plus up to $200,000.
Subsequent sale convictions carry enhanced penalties. Sale statutes also cover possession with intent to distribute.
It is a felony to grow any amount of cannabis in Tennessee. For 10 or fewer plants, a mandatory minimum sentence of one year in jail applies, along with a maximum of six years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.
The minimum penalty for growing between 10 and 19 plants is two years in prison; the maximum is 12 years, and the top fine is $50,000. Cultivation of between 20 and 99 plants carries a sentence of at least three years in prison, as many as 15, and a top fine of $100,000.
Growing between 100 and 499 plants comes with a minimum penalty of eight years in prison, a maximum of 30, and a fine of up to $200,000. Conviction for growing more than 500 plants carries a sentence of between 15 and 60 years in prison, along with a fine of up to $500,000.
Subsequent cultivation convictions carry enhanced penalties.
Hash and Concentrates
Special rules and penalties apply to the possession, manufacture, delivery, or sale of hashish, hash oil, and other marijuana concentrates. Possession of any amount is a misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 11 months in jail and $2,500 in fines.
Manufacture, delivery, or sale of concentrates is a felony. If the amount is less than 2 pounds, the maximum sentence is six years in prison and $5,000 in fines. If the amount is between 2 and 4 pounds, the top punishment is 12 years and $50,000.
The maximum penalty for manufacture, delivery, or sale of between 4 and 8 pounds of concentrate carries a maximum sentence of 15 years in prison and $100,000. Those penalties double for weights of between 8 and 15 pounds. Finally, a penalty of up to 60 years in prison and $500,000 applies to the manufacture, delivery, or sale of more than 15 pounds of concentrate.
Marijuana paraphernalia is illegal in Tennessee unless intended, marketed, and used only for legal purposes. Paraphernalia includes any items intended for use in the cultivation, growing, harvesting, processing, testing, analysis, storage, concealing, or use of marijuana.
Use and possession. Possession is a class A misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of one year in jail, and between $150 and $2,500 in fines. The mandatory minimum fine increases to $250 for a subsequent offense.
Sale and distribution. Sale of paraphernalia is a class E felony punishable by at least one year in jail, as many as six years in prison, and up to $5,000 in fines. Advertising of paraphernalia is also also banned, and is a class A misdemeanor.
Sale to a minor. It is a class E felony to distribute paraphernalia to a person under the age of 18 when the distributor is aged 18 or older and at least three years older than the recipient.
It is a misdemeanor to falsify a drug test in Tennessee. The top penalty is one year in jail and $2,500 in fines.
Tennessee’s medical marijuana law calls on the Tennessee Tech University to study the efficacy of CBD oil in preventing seizures. All research must be completed by 2018.
Qualifying conditions – Intractable seizures
Patient possession limits – Cannabis oil containing no more than nine-tenths of a percent THC
Home cultivation – No
State-licensed dispensaries – No
Caregivers – No
Reciprocity – No
Contact information – N/A
|1/2 oz or less (first offense)||Misdemeanor||1 year||$ 250|
|1/2 oz or less (subsequent offense)||Misdemeanor||1 year||$ 500|
|Fines for possession are mandatory.|
|1/2 oz – 10 lbs||Felony||1 – 6 years||$ 5,000|
|10 – 70 lbs||Felony||2 – 12 years||$ 50,000|
|70 – 300 lbs||Felony||8 – 30 years||$ 100,000|
|More than 300 lbs||Felony||15 – 60 years||$ 200,000|
|Includes possession with intent to distribute.|
|Subsequent offense carries higher penalty.|
|10 plants or less||Felony||1 – 6 years||$ 5,000|
|10 – 19 plants||Felony||2 – 12 years||$ 50,000|
|20 – 99 plants||Felony||3 – 15 years||$ 100,000|
|100 – 499 plants||Felony||8 – 30 years||$ 200,000|
|More than 500 plants||Felony||15 – 60 years||$ 500,000|
|Subsequent offense carries higher penalty.|
Hash & Concentrates
|Possession||Misdemeanor||11 months||$ 2,500|
|Manufacture, deliver, or sell less than 2 lbs||Felony||6 years||$ 5,000|
|Manufacture, deliver, or sell 2 – 4 lbs||Felony||12 years||$ 50,000|
|Manufacture, deliver, or sell 4 – 8 lbs||Felony||15 years||$ 100,000|
|Manufacture, deliver, or sell 8 – 15 lbs||Felony||30 years||$ 200,000|
|Manufacture, deliver, or sell more than 15 lbs||Felony||60 years||$ 500,000|
|Possession of paraphernalia||Misdemeanor||1 year||$ 2,500|
|Sale of paraphernalia||Felony||1 – 6 years||$ 3,000|
|Falsification of drug tests||Misdemeanor||1 year||$ 2,500|