[tabs type=”horizontal”][tabs_head][tab_title]Summary[/tab_title][tab_title]Law Breakdown[/tab_title][tab_title]Medical[/tab_title][tab_title]Penalties[/tab_title][/tabs_head]
Do you live in Wyoming? If so, you should learn your state’s marijuana laws. By researching local paraphernalia laws, you can better protect yourself from harsh penalties and fines.
[divider style=”solid” top=”20″ bottom=”20″]
Wyoming Marijuana Attorneys
The following Wyoming lawyers are actively involved in the practice of cannabis law:
Name: Your Firm Here
Name: Your Firm Here
Name: Your Firm Here
[divider style=”normal top=”20″ bottom=”20″]
*Disclaimer these are paid advertisements, however we have vetted the attorneys.
Wyoming allows the limited medical use of non-intoxicating CBD oil. All other possession, cultivation, and sale of marijuana is prohibited, and penalties are relatively harsh.
Marijuana possession is illegal under any circumstances, and the drug has not been decriminalized. Possession of 3 ounces or less is a misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and $1,000 in fines. Possessing more than 3 ounces is a felony with a maximum penalty of five years in prison and $10,000 in fines.
Wyoming is one of only a handful of states that punish the actual use of marijuana. Being under the influence is a misdemeanor and carries a maximum of six months in jail and $750 in fines. Any possession crime committed within 500 feet of a school carries an additional $500 fine.
Sale, Distribution, or Cultivation
It is likewise illegal to sell or distribute cannabis. Any amount is treated as a felony and is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and $10,000 in fines. Cultivation of any amount is a misdemeanor with a top punishment of six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. Double penalties apply to subsequent offenses, sale to a minor, and offenses committed within a drug-free zone.
Hash and Concentrates
Wyoming law treats hashish and other marijuana concentrates differently than regular bud. It is a misdemeanor to possess 0.3 grams of concentrate or less, and the maximum is one year in jail and $1,000. Possessing more than 0.3 grams is a felony and carries a top sentence of five years in prison and $10,000.
Cannabis paraphernalia is banned under Wyoming law unless marketed, sold, and used exclusively for legal purposes, such as tobacco smoking. Paraphernalia includes any items used in the cultivation, harvesting, manufacture, testing, analysis, storage or introducing of marijuana to the body.
Possession and use. Use of drug paraphernalia, or possession with intent to use, is a misdemeanor in Wyoming, punishable by up to six months in jail, $750 in fines, or both.
Distribution and sale. Distribution of paraphernalia is also a misdemeanor, but with slightly harsher penalties. The maximum punishment is 12 months in jail, a fine of $1,000, or both.
Wyoming’s CBD legislation removes state-level criminal penalties for the use and possession of cannabis extracts which are low in THC and high in CBD for qualifying patients. The law does not permit in-state cultivation or production.
Qualifying conditions – Intractable epilepsy
Patient possession limits – Qualified patients are permitted to possess unspecified amounts of “hemp extracts”, as long as the plant material contains less than 0.3 percent THC and more than 15 percent cannabidiol. Patients must also carry their “Hemp Extract Identification Card” in order to legally posses CBD oil.
Home cultivation – No
State-licensed dispensaries – No
Caregivers – No
Reciprocity – No
Contact information – Wyoming Department of Health
|Being under the influence||misdemeanor||90 days||$100|
|Less than 3 oz||misdemeanor||1 year||$1,000|
|More than 3 oz||felony||5 years||$10,000|
|Within 500 feet of a school is punishable by an additional $500 fine.|
|Sale or Distribution|
|Any amount||felony||10 years||$10,000|
|Any amount||misdemeanor||6 mos||$1,000|
|Hash & Concentrates|
|Possession of less than .3 g liquid||misdemeanor||1 year||$1,000|
|Possession of more than .3 g liquid||felony||5 years||$10,000|
|Possession of less than 3 g crystalline||misdemeanor||1 year||$1,000|
|Possession of more than 3 g crystalline||felony||5 years||$10,000|
|Manufacture, deliver, or possession with intent||felony||10 years||$10,000|
|Possession of paraphernalia||not classified||6 mos||$750|
|Convicted persons who are under 19 years shall have their driver's license suspended for 90 days - 1 year.|