Did you know that nearly 10% of all Arizonans use marijuana regularly? That’s close to 1 in 10 people in The Grand Canyon State. Medical marijuana is legal in the state for a range of medical conditions, but recreational use remains illegal.
Arizona marijuana laws allow use for medical purposes, but the drug is prohibited for any other use, and penalties are harsh. Possession for recreation, unlicensed sale, unlicensed manufacture, and trafficking all are illegal, as are possession of paraphernalia and manufacture or possession of concentrates. Fines for every offense can be as much as $150,000.
Arizona has decriminalized possession of marijuana only for medical patients. Possession of any amount less than two pounds for personal use is a felony punishable by between four months and two years behind bars, plus a fine of between $1,000 and $150,000.
Possession of between two and four pounds is also a felony, with maximum penalties of between six and 30 months behind bars and a fine of between $1,000 and $150,000.
Possession of more than four pounds can be punished with between 12 and 45 months in prison, plus a fine of between $1,000 and $150,000.
Sale, Manufacture, and Trafficking
Any sale of marijuana in Arizona is a felony. Sale of less than two pounds is punishable by between one year and 45 months in prison, and a minimum fine of $1,000.
Sale of between two and four pounds is punishable by between two and 8.75 years in prison and a minimum fine of $1,000.
Sale of more than four pounds can draw a sentence of between three and 12.5 years in prison, plus between $1,000 and $150,000 in fines.
It is also a felony to cultivate cannabis or manufacture cannabis products. Manufacture of less than two pounds carries a penalty of between six months in jail and 2.5 years in prison, along with the usual maximum $150,000 in fines.
Manufacturing between two and four pounds of cannabis comes with a penalty of between one year and 45 months incarceration, plus a fine. The sentence for manufacturing more than four pounds is between two and 8.75 years in prison and a fine.
Trafficking less than two pounds carries a minimum sentence of two years in prison and a maximum of 8.75, plus a minimum fine of $1,000.
Trafficking more than two pounds is punished by a minimum of three years in prison and a maximum of 12.5, as well as a minimum fine of $1,000.
Hash and Concentrates
Marijuana law in Arizona treats hashish and marijuana concentrates more harshly than other varieties of the drug. Possession of any amount of hash oil, tincture, or other concentrated form of cannabis is a felony punishable by between 12 and 45 months in prison and a fine of up to $150,000.
Manufacturing or transporting concentrates into the state in any amount comes with a penalty of between three and 12.5 years in prison, plus a fine.
Possession and distribution of marijuana paraphernalia is illegal under Arizona cannabis law. Paraphernalia includes any times intended for use with the cultivation, harvesting, manufacturing, processing, testing, analysis, or use of marijuana.
Use and possession. It is a class 6 felony to possess any paraphernalia in Arizona as long as it is intended for use with an illegal drug. Penalties for offenses are between four months in jail and two years in prison, and a fine.
Sale and distribution. It is likewise a class 6 felony for the sale and marketing of drug paraphernalia. Penalties include between four months in jail and two years in prison and a fine.
Arizona medical marijuana laws allow registered qualifying patients to obtain, use and possess cannabis to treat their conditions. Patients must have a physician’s written certification that they have been diagnosed with a debilitating condition and would likely benefit from the use of marijuana.
Qualifying conditions – Alzheimer’s Disease, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease), Cachexia or wasting syndrome, Cancer, Chronic pain, Crohn’s Disease, Glaucoma, Hepatitis C, HIV/AIDS, Nausea, Persistent Muscle Spasms, PTSD and Seizures.
Patient possession limits – Under Arizona marijuana laws, patients are allowed to possess two and a half ounces of usable marijuana
Home cultivation – Yes, if residence is further than 25 miles from a licensed dispensary. No more than twelve cannabis plants are allowed in an “enclosed, locked facility.”
State-licensed dispensaries – Yes, state-licensed dispensaries may produce and dispense cannabis to qualifying patients on a not-for-profit basis.
Caregivers – Yes
Reciprocity – Yes, the act defines a ‘visiting qualifying patient’ as a person ‘who has been diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition by a person who is licensed with authority to prescribe drugs to humans in the state of the person’s residence.’
|Less than 2 lbs||Felony||4 months – 2 years||$ 150,000|
|2 – less than 4 lbs||Felony||6 months – 2.5 years||$ 150,000|
|4 lbs or more||Felony||1 – 3.75 years||$ 150,000|
|Less than 2 lbs||Felony||1 – 3.75 years||$ 150,000|
|2 – 4 lbs||Felony||2 – 8.75 years||$ 150,000|
|More than 4 lbs||Felony||3 – 12.5 years||$ 150,000|
|Less than 2 lbs||Felony||6 months – 2.5 years||$ 150,000|
|2 – 4 lbs||Felony||1 – 3.75 years||$ 150,000|
|More than 4 lbs||Felony||2 – 8.75 years||$ 150,000|
|Less than 2 lbs||Felony||2 – 8.75 years||$ 150,000|
|2 lbs or more||Felony||3 – 12.5 years||$ 150,000|
Hash & Concentrates
|Possession or Use||Felony||1 – 3.75 years||$ 150,000|
|Manufacture, Sale, or Trafficking||Felony||3 – 12.5 years||$ 150,000|
|Possession or advertising of paraphernalia||Felony||4 months – 2 years||$ 150,000|
|Employing a minor in the commission of a drug offense, being convicted of a prior felony, or committing a drug offense in a school zone, lead to an increased sentence.|